The Works That I Do.

What kind of accomplishments are you particularly fond of, or proud of as you look back on your life? Is it a degree you earned in college, or a fantastic sale you made for your company that earned a wonderful commission for you? Is it a missions trip that you traveled on where you could help build a shelter, or dig a well for a community that had no access to fresh water?. Maybe you took part in a rescue mission after a natural disaster took place, and you helped save the lives of those trapped in an insurmountable course of events, like an earthquake, or a tornado, or a hurricane. Being a good, responsible father or mother is also a magnificent accomplishment as well, where your influence upon your children or grandchildren made an impact, that for them is the manifestation of love they needed to see for them to succeed in life.

Now hear what Jesus has to say in the Gospel of John Chapter 14 about the person who believes in Him and puts his or her faith in Him.”Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do shall you do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father. And whatever you ask in My Name, that will I do that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask anything in My Name, I will do it.” How is this possible?

In the previous verses Phillip said to Jesus: “Lord, show us the Father, and it is sufficient for us.” Jesus said to him; “Have I been with you so long, and yet you have not known Me Phillip? He who has seen Me has seen the Father; so how can you say , ‘Show us the Father’ ? Do you not believe that I am in the Father, and the Father in Me? The words that I speak to you I do not speak on My own authority; but the Father Who dwells in Me does the works.”

“Believe Me that I am in the Father and the Father in Me, or else believe Me for the sake of the works themselves.”     It is the Father Who does the works…. Jesus is pointing you to the Father.

I hope you can see now that because Jesus said “because I go to My Father” that the Father is doing the work, because of the Name of Jesus. “So that the Father will be glorified in the Son.” It is your Father’s good pleasure to give to you the Kingdom.

I encourage you to believe what Jesus promises. “These signs shall follow those who believe, they shall speak with new tongues, they shall lay hands on the sick and they shall recover.”

The gift of the baptism of the Holy Spirit, the Comforter, will empower you to be the witness of these very things that Jesus promises. The Gifts of the Holy Spirit mentioned in First Corinthians chapter 12 and chapter 14 will become evident when you desire the spiritual gifts.

The Voice of the Lord is powerful; the Voice of the Lord is full of majesty.

Leave a Reply

